AMD’s Catalyst™ 15.3 beta driver offers SL mesh fix

Update, April 27th: AMD have now updated their beta drivers to version 15.4.

AMD have release a new set of Catalyst™ drivers for windows which, according the release notes, includes a fix intended to resolve the  rigged mesh issues  which, since the deployment of the 14.9.2 drivers by the company, have caused rigged mesh to be invisible unless hardware skinning is disabled (see BUG-7653 and my report here).

The  AMD Catalyst™ drivers (1.4.9.2 onwards) rigged mesh rendering problems as a result of changing openGL support within the drivers (image courtesy of Maestro Linden, click for full-size)
The AMD Catalyst™ drivers (1.4.9.2 onwards) rigged mesh rendering problems as a result of changing openGL support within the drivers (image courtesy of Maestro Linden, click for full-size)

In the release notes accompanying the new drivers, AMD note the following under Resolved Issues:

[413076] Second Life : Rigged mesh objects are not rendered correctly when hardware skinning is enabled in the in game setting

The update was spotted by SL user Liffento Eldritch, who posted the news on the Firestorm Preview Group, prompting Miro Collas of the Firestorm team to poke a few people, and Whirly Fizzle to drop me a line on the update.

The AMD Catalyst™ 15.3 beta drivers offer a fix for the SL mesh rendering issue
The AMD Catalyst™ 15.3 beta drivers offer a fix for the SL mesh rendering issue

As regular readers of these pages know, I’ve followed the situation with the AMD drivers, and have posted on the matter a few times. In turn, as a result of these posts, Yoho Waco wrote-up a workaround for the problem, which appeared in a comment on a blog post here, and which I later reproduced as an article in its own right.

The workaround involves using .DLL files from either the 14.9.1 or 14.2 Catalyst™ drivers, and placing them  in the viewer’s installation folder.

If you are one of those who have employed this workaround yourself, please not that you must remove the relevant .DLLs files from your viewer’s installation folder, or the viewer will revert to using them, rather than the drivers for the newer .DLLs.

I’m an Nvidia user, and so cannot test things for myself, so should you give the new beta driver a go, please do drop a note in the comments on whether or not the fix works for you.

14 thoughts on “AMD’s Catalyst™ 15.3 beta driver offers SL mesh fix

  1. YES! It definitely works, tested it with Henri’s latest CoolVLViewer (1.26.13.x branch).

    Like

  2. Thank you! I’ve been wracking my brain trying to fix this and the beta drives were exactly what I needed.

    Like

  3. AMD, I couldn’t care less if you finally fix anything for SL. I have already switched to Nvidia and it was the best decision ever when it comes to buying hardware!

    Like

  4. This kind of annoys me, but I came out on top in the end. I take photos in SL, that’s just what I do, however when I decided to upgrade my computer massively the graphics card was one of the things I didn’t sweat much about it because both major lines of card (AMD v Nvidia) had great options. If I would of known about the AMD problem I would of never got an AMD card to start.

    Basically went down like this: upgraded computer, upgraded video card, found out that I can’t use Hardware skinning, so tried the work around, didn’t work for me. Went out and bought an nvida card (over all better than the AMD card but still another 330$ out of pocket). Every magically worked. Month after that (February) I ended up selling the frist card I bought and got another Nvidia to do SLi (amazing BTW).

    Here is why I’m upset. I had to really pour in some money for something that should of been addressed in a few weeks didn’t by AMD, and the response I got from AMD was more or less “Well too bad”. Unbelievable, of course it was a long more long winded than that but you get the idea.

    I am much more happy now with having Nvidia and CUDA support, but at the same time, it’s kind of a hard place to put anyone with newer hardware. More so when you look at a lot of the mid to mid-high range cards from AMD that are very reasonably priced for most people.

    Maybe I’m just becoming a bitter old man…

    Like

Comments are closed.