Me and Flat Ebbe

Strawberry Singh’s Monday Memes are fun – not that I participate in all of them, but I do read them. A while back, she did a Flat Rodvik meme, which I actually missed out on, so when she decided to do a Flat Ebbe meme, I knew I had to give it a go.

The rules are simple, as Berry states:

Meme instructions: Pick up a copy of Flat Ebbe Linden from my marketplace store for free and take him to one of your favorite places on the grid. Also, share at least three things that you’d like to tell Ebbe. Please remember to leave a link to your post in the comments and share your Flat Ebbe picture in the Blog memes flickr group.

A week or so ago, I invited the real Ebbe to come see the sights of Blake Sea. While he did indeed do so, he passed on my offer to chaperone him to places of interest (I must not be popular, it was the second invite he’d turned down from me :( , even if he did come and sit with me for a while at the overspill auditorium ahead of Philip Rosedale’s VWBPE keynote before he managed to slip into the main presentation regions). So, deciding to make the most of the next best thing, I decided to take Flat Ebbe on a cruise around the Blake Sea estates.

Things started out well enough; he even brought some champers along and we had a quick slurp before setting out. Then, ever the gentleman, he offer to drive the boat.

A little pre-cruise champers. such a gentleman!

A little pre-cruise champers. such a gentleman! (click for full size)

Along the way, I thought about what I’d like to suggest to Ebbe, particularly as I’d already taken the liberty of saying a few words on the day he officially started at the Lab.  However, there are some things I’d probably say, had I the opportunity:

  • Don’t just consider the ToS issue to be about problems of ownership. The concerns are as much about the lack of limitations – duration, scope, purpose, all of which should be addressed if equilibrium is to be restored.
  • Encourage your marketing team to think of ways to engage with SL communities to help promote the platform. Leverage some of the incredible experiences people create here. Get marketing to think beyond just following IMVU’s banner ads, and to consider more engaging ways to broaden SL’s appeal.
  • Don’t fall back into just looking at the technical issues when it comes to getting new users engaged in SL. You may not be keen on talking to psychologists about matters, but do consider making use of an ethnographer It’s a diverse world we have here, and techniques used in the real world can have value here as well.
  • Keep those doors of communication open! It’s been great to see more informative communications through the blogs (not to mention your time in the forums and on Twitter).
  • Keep having fun :) . And if you want to find out more on e-sports, always happy to take you skydiving or boat racing ;-). Or as you like skiing, why not take a look at the facilities Bay City and the East River Federation are bringing together for the SL Winter Games at the end of the year?

I could go on, but I always dread sounding like a cliché about grandmothers and eggs in matters like this. As it is, these are the things uppermost in my mind right now, so I’ll leave it there :) .

Now, I just *know* this wouldn't have happened if the real Ebbe Linden had been driving...

Now, I just *know* this wouldn’t have happened if the real Ebbe Linden had been driving… (click for full size)

4 thoughts on “Me and Flat Ebbe

  1. zzpearlbottom

    I do hope that Ebbe really realizes how many users enjoy the blake sea regions, how many do really enjoy mainland for so many reasons (traveling, exploring, communities and so on) and more then all, how Sl mainland history is some unique in any virtual world and how much it makes The difference of any other virtual world).
    Only in Second Life one can avoid teleport and choose instead to cross sims and only in mainland one can do that for hours!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

